The Cleaving by Juliet E McKenna – Book Review (spoiler free)

The blurb Four women, four destinies – the future of King Arthur’s court… A new, feminist retelling of the Arthurian legends. The Cleaving is an Arthurian retelling that follows the tangled stories of four women: Nimue, Ygraine, Morgana, and Guinevere, as they fight to control their own destinies amid the wars and rivalries that willContinue reading “The Cleaving by Juliet E McKenna – Book Review (spoiler free)”

The Hacker by Daniel Scanlan – book review (spoiler free)

The blurb The gripping debut techno thriller from cybercrime specialist Daniel Scanlan. FBI Special Agent Ericka Blackwood chases a deadly online predator in a high-stakes hunt for the truth. Perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and Stieg Larsson. He’s online. He’s anonymous. He’s deadly. When a video surfaces on the Dark Web showing a murderContinue reading “The Hacker by Daniel Scanlan – book review (spoiler free)”

Godkiller by Hannah Kaner – book review (spoiler free)

The blurb You are not welcome here, godkiller  Kissen’s family were killed by zealots of a fire god. Now, she makes a living killing gods, and enjoys it. That is until she finds a god she cannot kill: Skedi, a god of white lies, has somehow bound himself to a young noble, and they areContinue reading “Godkiller by Hannah Kaner – book review (spoiler free)”

Howling Dark by Christopher Ruocchio – Book Review

I read a lot of books. A lot of 5 star books. Book ratings vary from person to person. I admit I’m not clinical the way some people are about how I rank a book. Essentially, if I enjoy it and fly through the pages, it’s a great read for me. 5 stars. The end.Continue reading “Howling Dark by Christopher Ruocchio – Book Review”

Ascension by Nicholas Binge – Book Review (spoiler free)

Last week, I did a little teaser review of the 2023 releases I had already read – but thought each of the books deserved a bigger, stand-alone review. First up is Ascension by Nicholas Binge – which I swear you are going to see everywhere in a few months. THE BLURB A mind-bending speculative thrillerContinue reading “Ascension by Nicholas Binge – Book Review (spoiler free)”

December 2022 – Writing & Reading

Hello everyone, I hope you are all keeping well! Even though I’ve sent this out on the 1st of January, I started writing this newsletter on the last day of 2022 – and I’ve been thinking about how much I have to be thankful for.  In terms of writing, 2022 has just been magical. My book, The Children ofContinue reading “December 2022 – Writing & Reading”

2023 SFF book releases that I’ve already read

Hello! Happy new year! A new year of books and reading awaits us – and there are certainly lots of new books scheduled for 2023 that excite me. So much so, that I’ve read a few advance copies. Here are the books that have enthralled me the most- and that I highly recommend you read!Continue reading “2023 SFF book releases that I’ve already read”

Review – Of Blood and Fire by Ryan Cahill (spoiler free)

The Blurb Born in fire. Tempered in blood. Epheria is a land divided by war and mistrust. The High Lords of the South squabble and fight, only kept in check by the Dragonguard, traitors of a time long past, who serve the empire of the North. In the remote villages of southern Epheria, still reelingContinue reading “Review – Of Blood and Fire by Ryan Cahill (spoiler free)”

Review of Shield Maiden by Sharon Emmerichs

Hello everyone – another book review. This time it is for Shield Maiden by Sharon Emmerichs which is due for release in 2023. The Blurb Having grown up hearing tales of her uncle, the great King Beowulf, Fryda’s one desire is to become a shield maiden in her own right. Yet a terrible childhood accidentContinue reading “Review of Shield Maiden by Sharon Emmerichs”

November 2022 – reading & writing

Hello everyone, I hope you are all keeping well! Yay – at last my hardback edition is out everywhere (in every territory that wants to sell it, anyway!) This has been three months of hard work from the Head of Zeus team – so a big thanks to them for making this happen. So, there youContinue reading “November 2022 – reading & writing”