Fantasy authors that you should read #1

So, you’ve read Sanderson and Tad Williams and GRR Martin and Tolkien. You might have also read Anthony Ryan and Mark Lawrence. It’s fair to say that you like fantasy. ⚔️ 🐉 🩸

But where to look next? The top fantasy authors – of which there are about 10 – get a lot of discord chatter, a lot of social media time, and lots of reviews.

Well, there are a lot of SFF authors out there that are AMAZING and are equally deserving of all this attention.

I can’t discuss them all in this blog post, but I’m going to highlighting 6 of my favourite authors that don’t perhaps get as much attention as they deserve.

I’ll probably make this a monthly thing – as there are lots of great authors to talk about!

ANNA SMITH SPARK

Think grimdark – and then make it darker.

This fantastic author has the best prose in the whole fantasy genre. Epic, beautiful, gripping – such an amazing and immersive read.

Readers who enjoy Mark Lawrence and Joe Abercrombie will enjoy this series.

JUSTIN CALL

A fantastic new writer who is only 2 books into an epic series.

Fans of Sanderson will really enjoy the books published so far – full of gods, magical artefacts, and complex magical systems. However, I think it would be fair to say that Justin Call has an added flair for horror.

JONATHAN FRENCH

So you want to read something that’s fantasy, but perhaps a little more fun? Lots of conflict and magic, but perhaps a tad less overwhelming despair? Then this might be for you.

Styled as Sons of Anarchy – but with orcs – this is a great twist on the genre. Epic and entertaining, this is well worth a read.

ALIETTE DE BODARD

Multiple award winning Aliette De Bodard is an amazing author. She has lots of books to choose from, but this novella really grabbed my attention when I read it earlier this year.

Romantic fantasy is an emerging genre – and this is a beautiful read.

BRIAN STAVELEY

Epic. Philosophical. Full of depth.

The Annurian empire has old gods, new gods, leaches, fighting clans, and giant fighting eagles. 🦅

A mixture of classic Tolkien and the court intrigue that Game of Thrones does so well.

The Unhewn throne trilogy is amazing – and new books set in the same world are coming.

PETER NEWMAN

The Deathless trilogy is full of demons and soul swapping royal families.

It is a fantastic read for fans of The Witcher and Malazan. Highly imaginative and full of intrigue and magic.

If you have read any of these books, let me know!

Thanks for reading! If you want to read more of my blogs, please subscribe!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: